Emerging Design Talents Debut Creations at the Singapore Jewellery and Gem Fair

OCTOBER17-30_24_lowres

Epoch Times Staff

The Singapore Jewellery & Gem Fair is set to enthral visitors with a wide array of glittering fine jewellery, which are set to illuminate the halls of the Sands Expo and Convention Centre from 23 to 26 October 2014.

The biggest and most significant fine jewellery event in Singapore and the region, the fair will occupy more than 10,000 square metres of exhibition space, and showcase over 200 exhibitors from Singapore and around the world. Well-known jewellers from Belgium, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, Japan, Switzerland, Thailand, USA, and others countries will contribute to the plethora of fine jewellery on display, including loose gems, diamonds, and pearls.

On the opening day (Thursday, 23 October 2014), awards will also be presented to the winners of the Singapore Jewellery Design Competition 2014, to recognise talented, young jewellery designers.

Since 2009, the Singapore Jewellery Design Award (SJDA) has played an important role in nurturing talents in jewellery design. The theme for this year’s competition was “The Most Important Day of Life” in three different periods—the past, the present and the future. The winning designs will be on display at the Singapore Jewellery and Gem Fair, which also serves as a platform for emerging design talents to debut their creations in an international arena.

The winners of the SJDA are:

• Category A (Past) Winner: Ms Anastasia Antonovich, Russia, Moscow State University of Design and Technology.

• Category B (Present) Winner: Mr Kevin Koh, Singapore, Nanyang Polytechnic.

What sparked your interest in jewellery?

Kevin Koh: I liked how each piece of jewellery has its story of its own from the start. After signing up for a short jewellery course in my school I learnt more about the process of jewellery making and it made me wanted to create a piece of my own.

What’s the inspiration behind your winning jewellery design?

Kevin Koh: The inspiration is from the roots of a tree.

What are your plans for the coming future?

Kevin Koh: To take part in more competitions and learn more about jewellery before I graduate. Apart from industrial design, I also hope to pursue jewellery making in university in the future.

• Category C (Future) Winner:

Ms Carla Hesita, Philippines, University of The Philippines Diliman.

What sparked your interest in jewellery?

Carla Hesita: Perhaps it’s because of my passion for things that I consider to be beautiful, or the challenge that jewellery design presents. Perhaps even both. I see that jewellery design allows me to express my creativity yet at the same time demands that I retain practicality. I can answer this challenge in many ways, in many designs, and it keeps getting interesting for me.

What’s the inspiration behind your winning jewellery design?

Carla Hesita: I was inspired by the theme itself – the future. My winning design is a vista of my own journey through the times, the manifestation of my own vision and hopes for the future, my eventual projected reality, and it won as if it was a prophecy.

The concept is translating the bars of tribulations into a ladder to the climax of one’s journey in order to break free from its bounds and exalt oneself in a new form. One is unveiled as a star born out of the chaos from which it was forged; hence, the ring is a revelation of oneself in the ultimate form.

What are your plans for the coming future?

Carla Hesita: Among my choices are pursuing a second degree or perhaps a master’s degree. But many thanks to the SJA and this year’s manufacturing sponsor, Yuli Inc.—Fine Jewellery, I have had this opportunity to publicise my designs; this, besides boosting my reputation, could be my key to wonderful job opportunities as well, and so the jewellery industry is currently my top choice after I graduate.

Subscribe Epoch Times today! Clickhttp://goo.gl/e45YeZ

To Read Past Issueshttp://bit.ly/1rZn3Ww

Website – http://www.theepochtimes.com/

FacebookFindusonFacebook – https://www.facebook.com/EpochTimesSingapore

imagesTwitter – https://twitter.com/EpochTimesSg

images (1) Pinterest – http://www.pinterest.com/eetsingapore/

instagramFollow ‘EpochTimesSingapore’ on Instagram!

 

Leave a Reply

